UNC Asheville announces 2020 Hall of Fame Class

UNC Asheville announces 2020 Hall of Fame Class
UNC Asheville announces the 2020 Hall of Fame Class. (Photo credit: WLOS Staff)

The UNC Asheville athletic department announced on Friday the three newest inductees into the prestigious UNC Asheville Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2020 class is comprised of Kelsey Dawson (Women’s Soccer – 2000-2003), KJ Garland (Men’s Basketball – 2003-2008), and Alan DeRatt (Baseball – 2005-2008). This class will be inducted Saturday, September 26, at 10:00 AM in the Wilma M Sherrill Center.

"We are extremely excited to add Alan, Kelsey, and KJ to our Bulldog Athletics Hall of Fame," UNC Asheville Director of Athletics Janet R.Cone said. "They were Champions and Leaders as Bulldog student-athletes and have continued to model those qualities as alumni. Each is deserving of this recognition and honor. We want to thank our Hall of Fame committee for their hard work and look forward to welcoming this year's class at our September ceremony."

Dawson is the third all-time leading scorer for Bulldog program in points (90), goals (36) and assists (18). Dawson, a four-time All-Big South First Team player, also earned four Big South Player of the Week honors as a Bulldog. She ranks sixth on the program's single-season list in points scored with 26 back in 2002. She played an integral part in the Bulldogs reaching the Big South Conference Championship match in back-to-back seasons in 2002 and 2003.

Garland currently ranks 15th on UNC Asheville’s all-time scoring list with 1,363 points. He also is second in career assists (520), seventh in steals (153), and eighth in three-pointers made with 144. A four-year starter for the Bulldogs, Garland holds the school record for minutes played in a season with 1,217. As a senior, Garland was an All-Big South Second Team selection. He made the All-Tournament team as well in helping the Bulldogs win the Big South regular-season championship and make an appearance in the National Invitation Tournament (NIT).

DeRatt is one of the top pitchers to ever pitch for the Bulldogs. He is the program’s all-time leader in strikeouts (247), games started (55), and innings pitched (365.2), while ranking third in wins (22) and second in shutouts (2). In perhaps his best season, DeRatt posted a 1.74 ERA as a senior on his way to securing Big South Pitcher of the Year and All-Big South First Team honors. His impact pitching in the Big South was recognized as he was named to the Big South’s All-Decade team. Following his time in Asheville, DeRatt was drafted in the 17th round by the Colorado Rockies. In four seasons pitching in the Rockies organization, he reached each of the organization’s affiliates, including parts of two seasons with the local Asheville Tourists. DeRatt wrapped up his playing career with a four-year stint in independent baseball pitching for the Sioux Falls franchise in the American Association and the Ottawa Champions in the Canadian American Association of Professional Baseball (Can-Am League).

The goal of the UNC Asheville Athletics Hall of Fame is to continue to develop traditions, celebrate contributors of those who came earlier in our history, and encourage pride in our student-athletes, the campus community, and our alumni and supporters.

To learn more about the UNC Asheville Athletics Hall of Fame, please visit HERE. You can learn more about UNC Asheville athletics by visiting